Independence Hall
The Ethics of Rhetoric in the Digital Age
September 24-25, 2010
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta, Georgia

Complete biographical information on speakers

For the Rationale of the Meeting and the Special Saturday Night Dinner
in Honor of the Richard Weaver Fellowship Recipients:

The Ethics of Rhetoric in a Digital Age PDF Icon


7:00 - 9:00 Dinner

Chairman, Peter W. Schramm, Executive Director, Ashbrook Center for Public Affairs   

Keynote Speaker: James Ceaser, University of Virginia, Demagoguery in Democratic Politics   


8:30 - 10:00 Rhetoric and Persuasion in Political Thought

Chairman, Joseph F. Johnston, Jr., Liberty Fund   

Dutton Kearney, Aquinas College, The Rhetorical Roots of Political Impasse   

Steven Ealy, Liberty Fund, Rhetoric and Dialectic in Richard Weaver’s Thought   

 PDF Icon

James Stoner, Louisiana State University, Civility, Pluralism and Public Reason

10:15 - 11:45 Rhetoric in America   

Chairman, Donald V. Weatherman, President, Lyon College   

Lynn Uzzell, The Center for the Constitution, The Founders’ Firewall against Demagoguery   

Michael Jordan, Hillsdale College, The Spaciousness of the Old Rhetoric   

Thomas Landess, Author, The Virtues of the Old Rhetoric   

Carnes Lord, U.S. Naval War College, War-war and Jaw-jaw: Words, Ideas and National Security


12:00 - 1:30 Chairman, David P. Stuhr, Fordham University   

 PDF Icon

George Gilder, The Discovery Institute, The Digital Age   

2:00 - 3:30 Ordered Liberty in the Digital Age

Chairman, Kevin J. Mooney, Americans for Limited Government   

David Keyes,, Strategic Challenges Using the Internet   

Samuel Bostaph, University of Dallas, Economics and Peaceful Persuasion   

 PDF Icon

Adam Keiper, The New Atlantis, Political Controversy: Press, Party, and Pajamas   

4:00 - 5:30 Rhetoric and the Modern Presidency

Chairman, Ronald Robinson, President, Young America’s Foundation   

David Nichols, Baylor University, A Conservative Defense of the Rhetorical Presidency   

Steven Hayward, American Enterprise Institute, The Presidency from Reagan to Obama   

Saturday Night Dinner Co-Sponsored by The Intercollegiate Studies Institute

6:30 - 7:00 Reception - In Honor of Distinguished Member, Edwin J. Feulner, President, The Heritage Foundation

7:00 - 9:00 Dinner - In Honor of the Richard Weaver Fellowship Recipients

Master of Ceremonies, T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr., President, Intercollegiate Studies Institute   

Lee Edwards, Heritage Foundation, Induction of Edwin J. Feulner as a Distinguished Member   

Ed Feulner Remarks PDF Icon

M. Stanton Evans, Education and Research Institute, Richard Weaver and the Brotherhood of the Book