The Role of the U.S. in the World Today
March 31 - April 2, 2006


7:00 - 9:00 Dinner
Victoria Hughes, The Bill of Rights Institute, Chairman
General Introduction, Dedication of Meeting to the memory of Margo Carlisle, and Introduction of Andrew Bacevich
Andrew Bacevich, Boston University
10:00 - 11:30 Republic, Democracy, and Empire
William Anthony Hay, Foreign Policy Research Institute, Chairman
James Kurth, Swarthmore College
Mackubin T. Owens, U.S. Naval War College Speech Text
12:00 - 1:30 Karl Ziebarth, President of Ziebarth and Associates, Inc., Chairman
2:00 - 3:30 Just War, Jihad, and Terrorism: The American Response
David Forte, Cleveland-Marshall College of Law, Chairman Speech text
Barry Cooper, University of Calgary Speech Text
Daryl Charles, Union University Speech Text
4:00 - 5:30 The Battle for Hearts and Minds
John Blundell, Director, Institute of Economic Affairs, Chairman
Marty Zupan, President, Institute for Humane Studies
Robert R. Reilly, Chairman of The Committee for Western Civilization
Josiah Bunting III, President, H.F. Guggenheim Foundation
Saturday Night Optional Dinner Sponsored by ISI and The Philadelphia Society
6:00 - 9:00 Bookbinder's Restaurant
Speaker: John Lukacs, Author and Scholar
Special celebration for the publication of American Conservatism: An Encyclopedia by ISI
Sunday Breakfast Session
8:00 - 11:30 Past Presidents of The Philadelphia Society Reflecting on the overall topic
Victoria Hughes, Chairman 2005-2006
Edwin J. Feulner, Jr. (10 minutes) 1982-83
William C. Dennis (10 minutes) 1987-88 Speech Text
Leonard P. Liggio (4 minutes) Speech text 1992-93. 1994-1995
T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr. (14 minutes) 1993-94 Speech Text
John Willson (11 minutes) 1998-2000 Speech text
Ellis Sandoz (16 minutes) 2000-2001 Speech text
Claes Ryn (14 minutes) 2001-2002 Speech Text
Edwin Meese III (9 minutes) 2002-2003
Lee Edwards (13 minutes) 2003-2004
Midge Decter, (11 minutes) 2004-2005 Speech Text
Response of the Presidents and the Q&A (42 minutes)