The Perils of Progressivism
April 1-3, 2011
Dallas, Texas


7:00 - 9:00 Dinner
Chairman: Peter Schramm, Executive Director, Ashbrook Center
Invocation: Mrs. Barbara Elliott
Official Welcome: Former Mayor of Dallas, Tom Leppert
Keynote Address, Jonah Goldberg, Author, Liberal Fascism
10:00 – 11:30 Progress and Progressivism
Chairman: William Murchison, Baylor University
Robert C. Koons, University of Texas, Progress: Scientific and Sentimental PDF
Richard M. Gamble, Hillsdale College, America's Progressive Identity and French Ideologues PDF
Jay Langdale, Andrew College, Progress in the Nineteenth Century PDF
12:00 – 1:30 Solving the Toughest Problems Without Government
Dedication of Luncheon to Memory of Mel Bradford and W.H. Hutt: Bill Campbell, Secretary PDF
Forrest McDonald Pays Tribute to Mel Bradford PDF
Introduction of Ambassador Glassman, George Nash
Ambassador James K. Glassman, Founding Executive Director, George W. Bush Institute
2:00 – 3:30 The Progressive Assault on the Little Platoons of Family, Church, and School
Chairman: W.W. Caruth, The Liberty Institute
Kelly Shackelford, President, The Liberty Institute
Thomas Pauken, Chairman of the Texas Workforce Commission
John C. Goodman, National Center for Policy Analysis
3:30 – 5:00 Progressivism at the National Level
Chairman: Wilfred M. McClay
Matthew Spalding, The Heritage Foundation, Progressivism and the Constitution
Bradley C.S. Watson, Saint Vincent College, Progressivism and the Supreme Court
Ronald Pestritto, Hillsdale College, Progressivism and Politics
6:30-9:00 Dinner Hosted by the Claremont Institute
Master of Ceremonies, Brian Kennedy, President, The Claremont Institute
Invocation: Kenneth Blackwell, Former Secretary of State, Ohio
Charles Kesler, Editor, Claremont Review of Books
Respondent: Thomas G. West, University of Dallas, PDF
Sunday Breakfast
8:45-11:00 Progressivism and the Younger Generation
Chairman: Mark Henrie, Intercollegiate Studies Institute, PDF
Tiffany Jones Miller, University of Dallas
Carey Roberts, Arkansas Tech University
Scott Segrest, United States Military Academy, West Point, PDF
J. David Alvis, Wofford College
Joseph Postell, University of Colorado, Colorado Springs