Independence Hall
Conservatism: Identity and its Limits
April 18-20, 1986
The Drake Hoel
Chicago, Illinois

Conservatism: Identity & its Limits PDF Icon

Friday, April 18

4:00 - 5:30    Registration

5:30 - 6:30    Reception

Autograph Party —Russell Kirk - The Conservative Mind (New Edition)

6:30 - 9:00   Dinner

Daniel B. Hales, Chairman

Elliott Abrams, Assistant Secretary of State

"Intervention in Latin America: Cuba Si, Yanqui No?"

9:00 - 10:00    "A Design for Liberty: The American Constitution" (Liberty Fund Film)


Saturday, April 19

8:30 - 9:30    Annual Breakfast Meeting of Membership (Members only)

10:00 -11:30    "The Neoconservatives: The Species and Their Origins"

John L. Ryan, Chairman

Paul Gottfried, Rockford College

Burton Yale Pines, The Heritage Foundation

Edward Shapiro, Seton Hall University

Stephen J. Tonsor, University of Michigan

12:00 - 3:00    Luncheon

Report on The Charlottetown Society, Donald G. M. Coxe

Report on The Philadelphia Society, M.E. Bradford, President

"Rhetoric and Respectability: Conservatives and the Problem of Language"

3:00 - 5:30    "Roundtable: A Necessary Conversation"

Ernest van den Haag, Chairman

Brigitte Berger, Wellesley College

M. Stanton Evans, Education & Research Institute

Russell Kirk, Author and Lecturer

William Kristol, Department of Education

Leslie Lenkowsky, Institute for Educational Affairs

R. Emmett Tyrrell, Jr., The American Spectator